‘Dappers’

It’s movie night at Me, myself, and Ashlee-Heather’s and the movie of the night just couldn’t quite keep my attention so I have made my way to the computer room to start a new segment entitled ‘Dappers’. This is where I give props or ‘Dappers’ out to a blog or blogs that have stood above the rest. It’s like the water carrier award given out at camp except I won’t be giving out a five dollar canteen card. Also, it’s different because I’m talkin ’bout blogs and not about counsellors or dishboys or laundry ladies or nature directors or fishing directors or CIT supervisors [well, I may be. In fact, I know a former CIT supervisor, actually the only CIT supervisor in history I believe, and he has a sweet blog goin on. If it wasn’t for him there wouldn’t be My, myself, and Ashlee-Heather. Click on the be to see Ian, also known as Ethan.] or waterfront directors or maitenance men named Luca who carved a G for Gator into the grass and painted a cabin porch and instead of painting around the light he decided to paint the whole thing, lightbulb included, Gator included. We talking ’bout blogs. Not practice. Blogs. Not playoffs. Playoffs? PLAYoffs? No, Blogs. ‘Dappers’ is a segment for talkin ’bout blogs. We talkin ’bout blogs. Man, I come in here and do every blog likes it’s my last and we talkin ’bout blogs. Does anyone get that I’m pretending to be Allen Iverson? And then what I did was I threw in a little of the Colts coach that one year, Jim Mora I think, who said “Playoffs? PlaYOffs?” Kyle does a pretty good immitation. Check out his post about Sam Mitchell and hopefully watch as his conversation with tuff turtles escalates. That could make for some good reading material. Please encourage them to keep the conversation going.  Want to see a nice video go over to Lew bones page, scroll down,  and see a dead beached whale get blown up and people think its funny at first and then they have to start running from the whale particles.  It’s rainin whales.  See, what had happened was the town didn’t know what to do with the whale and so they thought it would be the best solution to blow it up. They were sitting around one day and said let’s go down to the beach and see if we can find something to blow up. Well they did and I didn’t need to write all that cuz we talkin ’bout blogs. The blogs I’ve mentioned all are located on my blogroll for your convenience along with Jay’s and Tuffies so let’s move on to giving a ‘Dapper’ to a non-blogroll contestant.  The first non-blogroll ‘Dapper’ is given out to one by the name of Al R Hounsell. Say it slowly. Al….R…..Hounsell.  You may know him from his bash on America in the Cannon (Tyndale’s Campus mag), although we have forgiven him for that. Or you may know him from the famous three point competetion in which he fearlessly attempted a ‘throw in the air bounce up and dunk’ for his last shot which someone mistook as a missed shot and stole the ball right when Al was about to bring down the backboard. Or you may have had the Christianity and Islam class with Al like I did.  If you don’t know him meet him at his blog. He is one of a kind class act and his blog is nice and you may laugh or you may be confused….I laughed… ‘Dappers’ to Al R Hounsell.  Al if your reading this you never call anymore.  Well, America I think that’s all for now. Until next time.. Good night Canada.   

20 thoughts on “‘Dappers’

  1. I heard that someone was calling me out. I am going to do this Jim Rome style and talk a little smack in the jungle nation. Tuffies do not, i repeat that do not ever ever question my commitment to this blog. I have been there when it began i am the only two time oooooh two time comment of the month winner. I have also been mentioned in the posts more than anyone on this blog. And finnally turtle was your name ever on the top of the page I thik not. So if anyone has a right to take a little break it is me. I am out or as my canadians say i am oooot like turtles chances of making a good comback. War more love to my man sid the kid on this blog. War to penguins all the way baby.

  2. listen jimmy. my name was on the top of the blog. top of the blog to ya. also, maybe if you weren’t so busy makin babies over there you could show your stinkin face once in a while. BAM! i’m all over you big willie style. this comment is finished, just like the chance of big boi makin it up to the top bunk without all that gruntin’ an grownin’! PEACE.

  3. oh man, chris moves to pittsburgh and all of the sudden he’s a big hockey fan. where was that love for the puck when you were north of the border? too bad though, you picked a bad time to get behind the crosby show, because heathcliff, claire, theo, rudy, vanessa, denise, sandra, alvin, winnie, nelson, olivia and cockroach are all about to get the snot beat out of them again by the boys from o-town. war to the sens finally [and i mean finally] making it all the way to the finals and bringing the cup back to the great [and I mean great] city of Ottawa.

    Mike, thanks for the dappers. CIT supervising was great, especially when I got up and walked out of our morning bible study because those young people decided to giggle the whole time instead of meditate on the Word of God. Can you believe that?

  4. Listening to Ian talking about Ottawa, I can see why the kids were giggling at his camp devotions! Big boy has long been suspected as a band wagon jumper, but I can vouch for support of “real” teams in the USA. Pens little boy..in 6, read’em and weep!

  5. oh, how touching … grandpamack sticking up for his special big boy. i’m surprised you guys can actually follow the game without the help of that glow puck the americans came up with a few years back. sorry fellas, ‘real’ teams aren’t ones that haven’t even made the playoffs in 6 years. it’s just a bit convenient that you showed up after years of futility and #1 picks. hey, classy move by the fans at the rink this evening, booing the canadian national anthem. i guess that shows the high character of the citizens of pittsburgh. ottawa has paid their dues in the playoffs [not that you would know about what has happened in previous years], and will win in 6 games. book it.

  6. I wish they would bring that puck back and I know tons of Canadians who are always waiting about three minutes after the goal is scored to actually cheer because they can not see the puck. Pretty much every time I ever watched a hockey game in Canada the fans would never know when the puck was in the net ha ha ha ha Plus my loyalty is to where ever I live except for football when i was in Toronto it was the leafs and the raptors now that is a real fan peeps cheer for the hometown team

  7. Christopher Mackneer? Who is that? oh, big boy / daddy. Alright, I respect your decision to cheer for the Penguins. I am sorry that the playoff run will be short. I suggest that if you are at a game or see Sid the Baby on the street, you should throw him some kleenex because I have never seen somebody cry to the refs that much in my life. And, even though you’re not in Toronto, you should probably keep up with the Raptors though, because they are going to do somethng special in the playoffs.

  8. I saw Sidney in the Pittsburgh mall over Christmas. He was doing Christmas shopping. No Joke. I did a double take at first but I’m sure it was him. We meet famous people. He got something from the electronics store. Probably just bought the rights to the store. I do like Ottawa’s goalie for that fight he got in earlier in the season. But ask any American to name a hockey player…Sid the Kid. Everyone else is referred to by position like Ottawa’s goalie or Goldberg the goalie. If Pittsburgh could make it to the finals hockey would be saved in America. He’s our boy. Poundddd it. I’m Mike Mackneer and I’m on Sid the Kid’s bandwagon. All Abooaard.

  9. I want to go back to sid the kid yelling at the officials as one blogger put it I have never seen someone cry to the officials so much. I want to recall a certian Tyndale hockey league with Lewis’s teams and I think that one year that blogger was on his team, and there was some serious tissue usage going on there.

  10. haha, is that big boy’s baby speaking from the womb? who is the big fella junior, and could you be a bit more specific about these allegations? do you ‘want’ to recall that, or do you recall it? i am confused. i honestly don’t remember getting in a ref’s face about anything. if i remember correctly, lewis’ team [of which i was a member] won that year, so i’m pretty sure all the opponents were the ones crying over all their L’s. and let’s be honest, tyndale floor hockey is a bit more of a big deal than the nhl playoffs.

    pivotal game 4 tonight.

  11. sid the kid didn’t come through tonight.

    big boi…remember that year we were on the same hocky team and that one dude snapped and threw his stick up the stair case on the stage and it hit the work out mirror and smashed it? oh man. that was jokes. until that one dude accused me of droppin an f-bomb. what the crap was that about? that ref was whack!

  12. #1 Mavericks vs. Warriors #8 #1 Pistons vs. Magic #8
    #2 Suns vs. Lakers #7 #2 Cavaliers vs. Wizards #7
    #3 Spurs vs. Nuggets #6 #3 Raptors vs. Nets #6
    #4 Jazz vs. Rockets #5 #4 Heat vs. Bulls #5

    Let’s get your picks in boys! (and girls)
    Sign, seal and deliver them right here! Maybe the administrator can have a blog just for the playoffs?

  13. West: Mavs, Suns, Nuggets, Rockets.
    East: Pistons, Cavs, Nets, Heat.

    How ’bout those Nets! Vincesanity returns!

  14. I see you Mackneer’s have wisely moved on from letting the world know your hockey thoughts. Pens in 6 … WHAT? Thank you, Ottawa.

    NBA picks:
    Mavs, Suns, Nuggets, Rockets
    Pistons, Cavs, RAPS [no question], Bulls

  15. O Canada, to thee we give thee thanks,
    For Crosby, Staal and Armstrong.

    As far as Ottawa’s concerned, you were right, it was about time to get to out of the first round!

    See you next year! Good luck Ottawa fans!

Leave a comment